TECHNICAL BULLETIN #108 - Rev 1.12 (5/23/97)

==============================================================================
TITLE   : Automating Faxing through a MS Word (6.x) FAXMERGE Macro
PRODUCT : Procomm Plus 4.x, 3.x
==============================================================================

You can create a Microsoft Word macro to fax through Procomm Plus for Windows.
When you change the printer driver in Word to send a fax, it changes the
default printer in all of your Windows applications.  Using this macro (based
on Word version 6), you can send a fax and maintain your default printer
selection.

INSTALL PROCOMM PLUS
Make sure that Procomm Plus is installed and set up for the modem you normally
use to fax.

CREATING THE MACRO
1. Start Microsoft Word and select Macro... from the Tools menu.

2. Type a name in the Macro Name field, e.g., Send_Fax (note that you cannot
   include a space in the name).

3. Click on Create.

4. Type in the macro included below.

5. Select Close from the File menu.

6. Click Yes when Word prompts you to save the changes.

7. To set up an icon on the toolbar, select Customize from the Tools menu.

8. Click on the Toolbars tab and then select Macro from the Categories list.

9. In the Macros list on the right, click on the newly created macro.  You
   will notice that a transparent square appears around your mouse pointer.

10. Keep the mouse button depressed and drag the square to the position on
    the toolbar where you'd like to place the icon.

11. Word will, by default, provide you with a text button that contains the
    name of your macro.  You may use this icon, select one of the provided
    icons, or create your own.

12. If you choose a graphic icon, whatever text is in the Text button name
    field will appear in the bubble help.

13. Click Assign to assign the button to the macro.

14. Click on Close to return to Word's main screen.

EDITING THE MACRO
Word will provide "Sub MAIN" and "End Sub."  These commands mark the beginning
and end of the macro.  For Procomm Plus 95, use the below macro:

Sub MAIN
   FilePrintSetup .Printer = "Procomm Plus 95 FAX on FAX:"
   FilePrint
   CreatingFax$ = "PROCOMM PLUS - Send Fax"
   StillGoing = 1

   While StillGoing = 1
      If AppIsRunning(CreatingFax$) Then
         WaitCursor 0
      Else
         StillGoing = 0
      EndIf
   Wend

   FilePrintSetup .Printer = "PRINTER On LPT1 :"

End Sub

The FilePrintSetup lines must be modified.  The script example above includes
generic strings in place of printers; below are specific examples.

  FilePrintSetup .Printer = "Sportster 14.4F-Fax on COM2:"
  FilePrintSetup .Printer = "COMPAQ PAGEMARQ 20 on LPT1:"

The text within the quotations must exactly match the information you see when
you select Print from the File menu and click the Printer... button.

If you are using PROCOMM PLUS 3.0 the following changes should be made to the
above script:

  First line should read FilePrintSetup .Printer = "Procomm Plus on FAX:"
  Third line should read CreatingFax$ = "PROCOMM PLUS for Windows - Send Fax"

==============================================================================
   To ensure that you have the latest version of this document, compare its
   revision number to that of the same document on any of our support sites.
  This technical bulletin may be copied and distributed freely as long as it
       is distributed in its entirety and it is not distributed for profit.
           Copyright (c) 1997 Quarterdeck  All rights reserved.
==============================================================================
